QUESTIONS.

 

From Fast Company, Chris Anderson shares advice on both how to end a speech  or presentation effectively and several ways to not end it well.  Some of the ways Chris recommends NOT to end are:

 Here’s how not to end:

“Well, that’s my time gone, so I’ll wrap up there.” (You mean, you had a lot more to say but can’t tell us because of bad planning?)

“Finally, I just want to thank my awesome team, who are pictured here: David, Joanna, Gavin, Samantha, Lee, Abdul, and Hezekiah. Also, my university, and my sponsors.” (Lovely, but do you care about them more than your idea, and more than us, your audience?!)

“So, given the importance of this issue, I hope we can start a new conversation about it together.” (A conversation?! Isn’t that a little lame? What should be the outcome of that conversation?)

“The future is full of challenges and opportunities. Everyone here has it in their heart to make a difference. Let’s dream together. Let’s be the change we want to see in the world.” (Beautiful sentiment, but the clichés really don’t help anyone.)

“I’ll close with this video which summarizes my points.” (No! Never end with a video. End with you!)

“So that concludes my argument, now are there any questions?” (Or, how to preempt your own applause.)

So many times I’ve seen presentations that end with “Are there any questions?” and then there’s silence.  A terrific presentation ends flat with an uncomfortable silence.  Chris offers great advice on how to end a presentation effectively and you should read the full story at Let The Head Of TED Show You How To End Your Speech With Power and get his book – TED Talks: The Official TED Guide to Public Speaking

